Heidi Hulan, Ambassador of Canada to Austria, and Chair, IAEA Board of Governors (left) and Mikhail Chudakov, UN IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Nuclear Energy hold plaque confirming Ontario Tech University's designation as an IAEA Collaborating Centre (virtual ceremony in Vienna, Austria, April 22, 2021).

Ontario Tech University has announced that it has been designated as an official Collaborating Centre by the United Nations International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). Ontario Tech’s faculties of Engineering and Applied Science and Energy Systems and Nuclear Science will contribute to the collaboration by providing support for research and development and training and education on renewable energy systems as well as supporting IAEA activities that will attract more women to the fields of nuclear science and engineering. “The Collaborative Centre designation is a timely initiative given the momentum the university has in all aspects of energy,” said Dr Steven Murphy, Ontario Tech President. Ontario Tech says that it is the first Canadian institution to receive the designation.

Leave a comment